Small Firm, Big Results

Multiple Record-Setting Verdicts Family firm that treats clients like family

What Are Connecticut’s Car Insurance Requirements?

October 28 2022 | Car Accidents

Operating a motor vehicle is a big responsibility in Connecticut. A motor vehicle is a dangerous weapon that can cause serious injuries, property damage and deaths. For this reason, all motor vehicle operators in Connecticut are required to have proof of financial responsibility in the form of automobile insurance coverage.

Required Types of Car Insurance for Drivers in Connecticut

It is against the law in Connecticut to operate a motor vehicle without first purchasing the required types and minimum amounts of automobile insurance coverage. Each state has different amounts of required car insurance for its drivers. Connecticut has a 25/50/25 car insurance law, meaning the following types of automobile insurance are mandatory on all vehicles:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage per person: at least $25,000 
  • Bodily injury liability coverage per accident: at least $50,000 
  • Property damage liability coverage: at least $25,000 

It is highly recommended that drivers purchase more than the minimum amounts of coverage for additional financial security in the event of a car accident. Purchasing first-party insurance coverage, for example, such as collision or comprehensive insurance, can allow a driver to pay for his or her own property damage and medical bills after an accident, regardless of fault. However, Connecticut law only requires liability insurance.

Is Connecticut a Fault or No-Fault State?

Connecticut is a fault state. This means that after an automobile accident, anyone who suffers injuries, medical bills or property damage will file a claim against the at-fault driver or party in pursuit of financial compensation. The victim must first determine the cause of the crash and who is at fault before filing. In a no-fault car insurance state, on the other hand, all injured victims file claims with their own car insurance companies, regardless of fault.

Under Connecticut’s fault law, a victim is responsible for proving that the other driver is at fault for the collision before a settlement check will be cut by the insurance company. The driver’s car insurance carrier will search for proof of its policyholder’s fault before accepting a claim. The mandatory liability insurance that is required for all drivers in Connecticut ensures that they have the financial means to pay for injuries caused to others in at-fault accidents. 

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Connecticut

It is against the law to drive a motor vehicle without the required amounts of car insurance in Connecticut. If a driver is pulled over by law enforcement and it is discovered that the driver does not have car insurance, his or her driver’s license and vehicle registration will automatically be suspended for one month. If this isn’t the driver’s first offense, the suspension period is enhanced to six months. In addition, the driver will have to pay a fine of at least $100 for this infraction. If an uninsured driver causes a car accident, he or she will be held responsible for paying for the victim’s medical bills and property repairs out of pocket, as well.

What to Do if You Get Into an Accident With an Uninsured Driver

If you get into a car accident with another driver and find out that he or she is illegally driving without insurance, stay calm and call the police. You should always report an accident involving a broken law, including the failure to adhere to Connecticut’s insurance requirements, so that the driver is held accountable. The police can ticket the driver and fill out an accident report, which you can then use as evidence for your insurance claim. 

Next, you will call your own car insurance company to find out if you have coverage for your losses. You will need to have purchased optional types of insurance in Connecticut for this to be the case, such as uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. You may also have grounds to pursue a claim against a third party, however, depending on the circumstances. If a road defect such as a pothole contributed to your crash, for example, you may have grounds to file a lawsuit against the government. Contact a car accident lawyer near you as soon as possible to discuss this option.

Free Consultation

  • *required fields
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.